top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePatrice

Thanksgiving was Made for Eating!

Updated: Feb 1, 2018

This year, I guess I'll have to be thankful for my family, because I can't be thankful for the food. Just kidding, maybe.


People wait for that delicious Thanksgiving meal all year long! Present company is no exception. I'm southern, so I was looking forward to smoked turkey, fried turkey, dressing (not stuffing), cranberry sauce, macaroni and cheese, collard greens, green bean casserole, sweet potato soufflé, and MY MAMA's POUND CAKE!!!!! Not to mention the jerk chicken, curry chicken, rice and peas, rum cake, and cocktails that we get at our 2nd stop on Thanksgiving, where we get to spend time with my husband's family. But, I had been on Quick Weight Loss for a couple of weeks and I'm determined not to be fat no mo!

A couple of days before the holiday the center had a Thanksgiving food tasting. I wasn't able to make it, but they had pity on me and gave me a recipe sheet anyway. (There was no pity. They were readily available.)


I'm allowed to have a protein, 2 veggies, and a starch for each lunch and dinner. Between meals, I have a fruit and tasty drink of metabolism booster and fiber. So, I had to plan accordingly, so I could eat and both of our stops. I decided I would make the QWLC dressing, cranberry sauce, and green beans. I would utilize the meat from the turkey at both stops to complete my meal.


I'll show you what everything looked like before giving you my thoughts about the taste of the food.


Cranberry sauce in the making:


Dressing in the making:


Finished dressing:


My Thanksgiving Meal:



I must say that I was pleasantly surprised! The fresh cranberry sauce and the dressing made with a slice of diet bread was really good. The green beans were a-ight, even though there was no cream of mushroom soup and crispy onions involved.

Now, I'm not saying that I didn't miss my traditional meal, but I was satisfied with my healthy taste of Thanksgiving and my over a pound weight loss from Wednesday to Friday. I'd say it was a win, win situation.

11 views0 comments

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page